Johnson Controls: H-1B and PERM filings, with workplace records, 28 states
Johnson Controls filed 45 labor condition applications (LCA) in fiscal year 2026, to 30 June 2026. OFLC certified all of them. The median offered wage on its LCAs in fiscal years 2025 to 2026 is $105,664 a year. It filed 12 PERM applications in fiscal year 2026, to 30 June 2026. OFLC certified all of them. An LCA is a filing. It is not a visa and it is not a job.
OSHA opened 79 inspections at Johnson Controls in 23 states since 2016. The inspections have 59 citations. 7 inspections have a contested citation.
The Wage and Hour Division concluded 39 cases at Johnson Controls in 23 states since fiscal year 2005. The back wages agreed to pay in these cases are $158,864.
Is this one company?
This page adds up the records that the agencies hold under one employer name in 28 states. The site joins them by name only.
A record on this page can belong to a different firm that has the same name.
The state records use these names: Johnson Controls; Johnson Controls, Inc..
The table of state records gives the city and the industry of each one. How the site matches records
Since the last update
No change. The site tracks the LCA filings, PERM applications, OSHA inspections and back wages of this company. Changes and data dates
Totals by agency: all states
| Agency | Record | Figure | Period |
|---|---|---|---|
| OFLC | LCA filings, fiscal year 2026 | 45 | To 30 Jun 2026, 100% certified |
| OFLC | LCA filings, all fiscal years | 106 | Fiscal years 2025 to 2026 |
| OFLC | PERM applications | 20 | Fiscal years 2024 to 2026 |
| OSHA | Inspections | 79 | Opened since 2016, in 23 states |
| OSHA | Citations | 59 | 7 inspections have a contested citation |
| OSHA | Current penalties | $301,450 | Initial penalties $348,162 |
| WHD | Concluded cases | 39 | Fiscal year 2005 to 15 Jun 2026 |
| WHD | Back wages agreed to pay | $158,864 | For 265 employees |
| 300A | Total recordable case rate | 0.6 | 2025, 17,970 employees in 27 states |
| USAspending | Contract obligations | $73M | Latest 12 months |
H-1B and PERM: Office of Foreign Labor Certification
Decisions to Newest file fiscal year 2026, quarter 3Read from the committed copy
Employer-specific case information that appears on this website was provided to OFLC by employers who submitted prevailing wage, labor certification and labor attestation applications for processing. These are not employer responses to the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Employment Statistics (BLS-OES) survey.
Any typographical errors or other data anomalies (e.g., incomplete or blank data fields, etc.) may be due to internal data entry or other external customer errors in completing and submitting the applications for processing.
A small percentage of determinations may be subject to change in subsequent quarterly releases due to appeal or redetermination decisions on employer applications.
The words of the Office of Foreign Labor Certification. Source: Performance Data, read .
- LCA filings, fiscal year 2026
- 45100% certified, year to date
- Median offered wage
- $105,664a year; prevailing $104,125
- Worker positions
- 106fiscal years 2025 to 2026
- PERM applications, fiscal year 2026
- 12100% certified
| Fiscal year | Filings | Certified | Certified share | Denied | Withdrawn | Worker positions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 61 | 61 | 100% | 0 | 0 | 61 |
| 2026 | 45 | 45 | 100% | 0 | 0 | 45 |
Prevailing wage levels on the filings
| Level | Filings | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Level I | 6 | 6% |
| Level II | 36 | 34% |
| Level III | 35 | 33% |
| Level IV | 29 | 27% |
| Not stated | 0 | 0% |
| Occupation (SOC) | LCA filings |
|---|---|
| Software Developers | 31 |
| Mechanical Engineers | 15 |
| Electrical Engineers | 10 |
| Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers | 9 |
| Computer Occupations, All Other | 6 |
| Operations Research Analysts | 4 |
| Validation Engineers | 4 |
| Data Scientists | 3 |
PERM applications (permanent labor certification)
| Fiscal year | Applications | Certified | Certified share | Denied | Withdrawn |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | No data | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 8 | 8 | 100% | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 12 | 12 | 100% | 0 | 0 |
| Occupation (SOC) | Applications |
|---|---|
| Mechanical Engineers | 5 |
| Software Developers | 5 |
| Data Scientists | 2 |
| Financial and Investment Analysts | 2 |
| Computer Systems Analysts | 2 |
| Electrical Engineers | 2 |
| Financial Managers | 1 |
| Database Administrators | 1 |
Fiscal year 2024 holds the applications on the new Form 9089 only. A PERM job title is in the table when it has five or more applications. The median offered wage on the PERM applications is $106,454 a year.
State records: 28 employer records
| State | City | Industry | LCA filings, 2026 | PERM applications | OSHA inspections | WHD cases | Back wages agreed to pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Madison | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | $0 |
| California | San Diego | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 5 | 1 | $10,519 |
| Colorado | Aurora | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | $0 |
| Delaware | New Castle | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | $0 |
| Florida | Largo | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 4 | 3 | $8,110 |
| Georgia | Leesburg | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | $0 |
| Hawaii | Honolulu | Construction of Buildings | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | $0 |
| Illinois | Arlington Heights | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | $0 |
| Indiana | Indianapolis | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | $0 |
| Kansas | Wichita | Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing | 0 | 0 | 7 | 2 | $0 |
| Kentucky | Louisville | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | $0 |
| Louisiana | Baton Rouge | Transportation Equipment Manufacturing | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | $0 |
| Maryland | Linthicum | Construction of Buildings | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | $49,918 |
| Massachusetts | Lynnfield | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | $0 |
| Michigan | Madison Heights | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | $0 |
| Mississippi | Hattiesburg | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | $23,632 |
| Missouri | Albany | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 6 | 9 | $0 |
| New York | East Syracuse | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | $0 |
| North Carolina | Tarboro | Construction of Buildings | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | $229 |
| Ohio | Cincinnati | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 3 | 1 | $0 |
| Oklahoma | Oklahoma City | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 5 | 2 | $59,711 |
| Pennsylvania | New Cumberland | Machinery Manufacturing | 0 | 0 | 8 | 1 | $0 |
| Puerto Rico | Mercedita | Utilities | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | $0 |
| Texas | Lubbock | Construction of Buildings | 0 | 0 | 7 | 4 | $2,165 |
| Virginia | Chantilly | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 3 | 1 | $4,580 |
| Washington | Spokane | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | $0 |
| Wisconsin | Milwaukee | Machinery Manufacturing | 45 | 20 | 0 | 5 | $0 |
| Wyoming | Cheyenne | Specialty Trade Contractors | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | $0 |
OFLC files LCA and PERM applications under the state of the employer address on the form. OSHA and the Wage and Hour Division record the state of the establishment. Each state links to its own record, with its caveats and its inspections.
OSHA inspections: Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Records to Inspections opened since 2016Read from the committed copy
Until cases are closed, IMIS entries concerning specific OSHA inspections are subject to continuing correction and updating, particularly with regard to citation items, which are subject to modification by amended citations, settlement agreements, or as a result of contest proceedings. THE USER SHOULD ALSO BE AWARE THAT DIFFERENT COMPANIES MAY HAVE SIMILAR NAMES AND CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE ADDRESS MAY BE NECESSARY TO AVOID MISINTERPRETATION.
The words of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Source: Establishment Search, read .
- Inspections since 2016
- 79in 23 states
- Citations
- 5928 serious, willful or repeat
- Current penalties
- $301,450initial $348,162
- Inspections with a contested citation
- 730 with a final order on every citation
| Year | Inspections | Citations | Current penalties |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 12 | 7 | $32,263 |
| 2017 | 15 | 11 | $35,168 |
| 2018 | 7 | 7 | $36,169 |
| 2019 | 13 | 9 | $26,366 |
| 2020 | 6 | 1 | $5,852 |
| 2021 | 4 | 1 | $0 |
| 2022 | 7 | 7 | $109,900 |
| 2023 | 4 | 2 | $14,864 |
| 2024 | 5 | 9 | $18,550 |
| 2025 | 4 | 4 | $22,318 |
| 2026 | 2 | 1 | $0 |
| All years | 79 | 59 | $301,450 |
Each state record lists its inspections with the status and the standards cited.
Back wages: Wage and Hour Division
Concluded cases to Cases since fiscal year 2005Read from the committed copy
The dataset contains all concluded WHD compliance actions since FY 2005. The dataset includes whether any violations were found and the back wage amount, number of employees due back wages, and civil money penalties assessed. NOTE: Findings Start Date and Findings End Date are not equal to Case Open Date and Case Close Date, which are not included in the dataset.
The words of the Wage and Hour Division. Source: Open Data Portal, dataset Enforcement, read .
- Concluded cases
- 39in 16 states
- Back wages agreed to pay
- $158,864for 265 employees
- Civil money penalties
- $0
| Year | Cases | Back wages agreed to pay | Employees |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2003 | 1 | $10,519 | 48 |
| 2004 | 1 | $0 | 0 |
| 2005 | 1 | $0 | 0 |
| 2007 | 1 | $0 | 0 |
| 2008 | 1 | $0 | 0 |
| 2009 | 1 | $0 | 0 |
| 2010 | 2 | $1,108 | 2 |
| 2011 | 2 | $0 | 0 |
| 2012 | 6 | $0 | 0 |
| 2013 | 1 | $0 | 0 |
| 2014 | 2 | $0 | 0 |
| 2015 | 3 | $0 | 0 |
| 2016 | 3 | $7,002 | 1 |
| 2017 | 2 | $49,918 | 3 |
| 2018 | 1 | $4,511 | 12 |
| 2019 | 2 | $0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 2 | $0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 | $23,632 | 8 |
| 2022 | 2 | $59,780 | 186 |
| 2023 | 3 | $229 | 1 |
| 2024 | 1 | $2,165 | 4 |
| All years | 39 | $158,864 | 265 |
Every case in the file is concluded. The file does not say if the employer paid the back wages.
Injury summaries: OSHA Injury Tracking Application, Form 300A
Calendar years 2023 to 2025Read from the committed copy
While OSHA takes multiple steps to ensure the data collected are accurate, problems and errors invariably exist for some establishments. Efforts are made during the collection cycle to correct submission errors; however, some remain unresolved. OSHA does not validate the employee or injury and illness counts reported by establishments.
Recording or reporting a work-related injury, illness, or fatality does not mean that the employer or employee was at fault, that an OSHA rule has been violated, or that the employee is eligible for workers' compensation or other benefits.
The words of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Source: Injury Tracking Application (ITA) Data, read .
- Total recordable case rate, 2025
- 0.6cases for each 100 full-time workers
- Establishments, 2025
- 150in 27 states
- Employees reported
- 17,970
- Recordable cases
- 127
Federal contracts: USAspending.gov
Period the latest 12 monthsRead from the agency
There are various reasons financial or award data is not reported by agencies or otherwise available to USAspending.gov at a given time. These include, but are not limited to, timing of data availability, or sensitive data that is not subject to submission. Where possible, USAspending.gov advises readers that other information exists that cannot be detailed.
The words of the USAspending.gov. Source: About the Data, glossary entry Unreported Data, read .
- Contract obligations, latest 12 months
- $73M
- Recipient level
- Child
USAspending lists Johnson Controls, Inc among the 3,903 largest federal contract recipients. USAspending credits Dun and Bradstreet (D&B) for some recipient data. Data sources
Questions about this record
- What happened to the LCAs of Johnson Controls?
- Johnson Controls filed 106 LCAs in fiscal years 2025 to 2026. OFLC certified all of them. OFLC denied none. The employer withdrew none.
- For which occupation does Johnson Controls file the most LCAs?
- Software Developers has 31 filings in fiscal years 2025 to 2026.
- For which occupation does Johnson Controls file the most PERM applications?
- Mechanical Engineers has 5 applications in fiscal years 2024 to 2026.
- In which states are the records?
- The records are in 28 states. LCAs are under 1 state, the state of the employer address on the form.
Official channels
- OSHAOSHA establishment searchOccupational Safety and Health Administration. Address checked .
- 300AOSHA injury and illness data (Form 300A)Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Address checked .
- OFLCOFLC performance data (LCA and PERM disclosure files)Office of Foreign Labor Certification. Address checked .
- WHDHow to file a complaint with the Wage and Hour DivisionWage and Hour Division. Address checked .
Cite this page
Employer Ledger. "Johnson Controls." https://employerledger.com/company/johnson-controls/. Records of: Office of Foreign Labor Certification; Occupational Safety and Health Administration; Wage and Hour Division; OSHA Injury Tracking Application, Form 300A; USAspending.gov. Newest record .
The address of this page does not change. The figures change when an agency publishes new records.
Where the figures come from
- OFLC Office of Foreign Labor Certification. Decisions to . Newest file fiscal year 2026, quarter 3. Read , from the committed copy.
- OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Records to . Inspections opened since 2016. Read , from the committed copy.
- WHD Wage and Hour Division. Concluded cases to . Cases since fiscal year 2005. Read , from the committed copy.
- 300A OSHA Injury Tracking Application, Form 300A. Calendar years 2023 to 2025. Read , from the committed copy.
- USAspending USAspending.gov. Period the latest 12 months. Read , from the agency.
The site built this page on . The methodology tells how records are matched and counted. To report an error in the processing, use the corrections page. The agency that holds a record decides disputes about it.